Some history and the heebie-jeebies in ‘The Diviners’

Naughty John, Naughty John, does his work with his apron on. Cuts your throat and takes your bones, sells ’em off for a coupla stones.

Processed with VSCOcam with q1 preset

“The Diviners” by Libba Bray is one of my favorite books. I only came upon the book by chance while browsing the shelves of the Young Adult section of a Barnes & Noble in Huntington Beach, CA. I had read Bray’s “The Gemma Doyle Trilogy” (that’s the unofficial name, but if you’d like to read it the official titles are the following: “A Great and Terrible Beauty,” “Rebel Angels,” and “The Sweet Far Thing”) and it quickly became my favorite. I loved it so much that I read the first two books three times and the last book twice — I’ve never done that before.

Anyway, when I saw Bray’s name under the title of “The Diviners,” I snatched it up and started reading it on my flight home two days later. I might be mistaken, but I’m pretty sure I finished it in a week or less. While this kind of book might not be for everyone, it’s definitely for you if you’re into the following:

  • The 1920s and history
  • Ghosts and a bit of fantasy
  • Books with a strong female lead
  • You really enjoyed “The Gemma Doyle Trilogy”

I’m the first to admit that I am absolutely terrible at describing the plot of books. I have tried to do in the past and just end up reading what’s on the book jacket if I had it on me. But that first line in this post? That’s taken from the pages of the book, and every time it comes up in the story, I get the heebie-jeebies (would you look at that… the 1920s slang is rubbing off on me). If it made you feel the same way, you may want to read this book.

I’m currently reading it for the second time because the second book in the series, “Lair of Dreams,” was just released last Tuesday. I had hoped to be done “The Diviners” again by then, but luckily I’ve only got a couple hundred pages to go.

Let me know if you end up reading “The Diviners” — I’d love to hear what others have to say about it!

– A

One thought on “Some history and the heebie-jeebies in ‘The Diviners’

Leave a Reply

