Summertime? Just Give Me Autumn, Thank You!

Almost everyone I know says they “can’t wait for summer.” It could be the beginning of October and they’re already saying it. If it’s the middle of summer, they’re already dreading its end when there’s still at least a month and half left of it to enjoy.

Me in the summertime? I’m quite the opposite. Call me crazy, but thick humid air and starting to sweat the moment I step out my front door are not appealing to me.

In the summertime, all I want is autumn — my favorite time of year.

I wish I had a better photo of this, but it wraps around my arm so it's difficult. This is also right after it was finished so apologies for the redness.

This is right after my tattoo was finished so apologies for the redness — wish I had a better photo!

I love autumn so much that I got a tattoo earlier this year to show my appreciation for it (props to Dan Mugrauer at Red Lotus!).

I love the slight chill in the early morning hours, the shades of yellow and orange that speckle the trees, the excitement for Halloween, and layers — meaning hoodies or sweaters or blankets or scarves. Autumn has always been my favorite time of year, and the summer just spikes my anticipation for it.

Autumn may bring the end of long days and the closing of swimming pools, but it also brings an end to unbearable heat and high electric bills from constantly running the air conditioning.

Summertime, I appreciate you for getting Vitamin D, trips to the beach, and afternoons by the pool, but I’ll take autumn over you always.

– A

19 thoughts on “Summertime? Just Give Me Autumn, Thank You!

  1. Hildegard | whphotoplus says:

    I used to dread autumn because it meant the return to a hectic schedule, but, perhaps because of being retired, I now say my favourite months are September and especially October (= autumn in Ontario) for the same reasons you do. Also, it’s the perfect season for hiking without being swarmed by mosquitoes! (Your tattoo is amazing, although I shrink back from the thought of the pain you must have endured). I enjoyed your post!

    • Ashley C. says:

      I didn’t even think about the hectic schedule! Though I haven’t been in school for about five years now and don’t have kids yet, so I guess it makes sense for me not to. And yes! I agree about mosquitos! I’m but by them constantly so I love that they start disappearing in autumn! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • Ashley C. says:

      Ugh, I agree. It’s the same around here. Spring is practically non-existent but autumn usually shows up for some period of time. Maybe that’s part of why I like so much because we get just enough of it.

  2. Dreamer of Dreams says:

    Stunning tattoo! Lovely post — I like your sensory details and imagery. This sentence caught me: “Autumn has always been my favorite time of year, and the summer just spikes my anticipation for it.” I agree, except that Autumn means winter, and my feelings towards winter are mixed!

    • Ashley C. says:

      Thank you! It’s my favorite tattoo. 🙂 And I’m so happy you enjoyed the post! I try to be as descriptive and visual as I can because that’s what I enjoy reading. I’m happy you appreciate it, too!

  3. izabolinha says:

    Autumn I love you (and Spring too) and one of the things I like is that I get to buy school supplies Yeah (but they are for me 😉 don’t tell the kids).
    Your tattoo is amazing ! My daughter can not see it or she will beg for one too! 🙂

    • Ashley C. says:

      I love buying school supplies, too! That was always what I loved most about going back to school, haha. And thank you for the tattoo compliment. If your daughter ever gets one, she’ll probably want another one!

  4. wordscoffeeandlacedresses says:

    I completely agree with every single word you have written in this post. Autumn is my absolute favourite season, and I would take it over summer any day

  5. Mark Anderson says:

    Nice post! I, too, think autumn is the best season, although there is much to be said for the other three as well. And the beauty of living here in the Midwest is that we do have four very different seasons. Best wishes to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

