Random Act of Kindness = Zucchini Bread for Days

One would think that a zucchini would be easy to find — at least I did — but I have never been easily able to find them. I’ve gone to multiple grocery stores on multiple occasions and was never able to find a freakin’ zucchini. So, at the risk of sounding silly, I asked where I could find some in a Facebook group that caters to residents in and around my town. But that turned out to not be a silly thing to do at all. One of the answers to my question came from a super kind lady named Tanya who offered me some zucchinis from her garden for FREE. I was thrilled, and yesterday I went to pick some up and couldn’t believe the two she had for me. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset LOOK AT THOSE THINGS. THEY ARE MASSIVE. (I kind of have small hands but still, HUGE.)

So anyway, remember how in my first post I said that I like to bake? That is why getting my hands on this damn vegetable was so important; because I love zucchini bread and I love to bake it myself. Since I enjoy it so much, I thought I’d share my process and took some pictures along the way. The recipe I use comes from Chow and is so ridiculously easy. The recipe calls for one 9×5 inch loaf pan, but I have always been able to get two loaves with two 8X4 inch loaf pans. The hardest part is grating the zucchini (but it burns calories!) and that’s done in the beginning or the night before so it’s out of the way. Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Unsalted butter (for coating the pan)
  • 2 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour (keep the bag out, you’ll need some for coating your pan)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (the recipe calls for “freshly ground,” but I use store-bought)
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt
  • 3 large eggs (room temperature — just leave them out while you’re getting everything ready)
  • 3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 3/4 vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups grated zucchini on large holes (one large zucchini should be enough)

The first thing I do is prepare the zucchini for grating. If you have a large one cut it up in sections and then cut out the seeds, because you don’t want those. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset Next, get your grater and put it over a bowl. Make sure you use the large holes and get to grating. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset This will be a little messy, at least it is for me, and you’ll need to brush grated zucchini off of the top as you go. Keep grating until you get 2 1/2 cups worth. I place it in a measuring cup to make sure I have enough, then cover it and set it aside while I get everything else together. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetThe next step is to turn your oven on and preheat it at 350 degrees. Then grab your loaf pans, a stick of the unsalted butter, and your flour and coat your pans. I just rub the stick of butter all over the pan (make sure you get all the nooks and crannies!) and throw in some flour and shake it around until the pan is coated. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetAfter coating your pans, set them aside and grab a large bowl. Dump in your flour, baking powder, baking soda, ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, and salt. Whisk them all together and then set aside. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetNow grab another large and dump in your eggs, dark brown sugar, granulated sugar, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract. Whisk everything together until the eggs are broken and everything is evenly combined. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetNow grab your bowl of dry ingredients and dump some of it into the bowl of wet ingredients. Use a spatula to fold the dry mixture in, adding more as you get it folded in until all of the dry mixture is in the bowl. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetWhen the mixture is almost combined, as seen above, grab your 2 1/2 cups of zucchini and dump that into the bowl. Use the spatula to fold it in. This will make everything turn into a kind of soupy mixture. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetI sometimes add chocolate chips to my zucchini bread, so if you’d like to do that, now is the time to add them! Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetAfter everything in batter is combined, slowly pour it into your loaf pans. I get mine filled a little higher than halfway (sorry, I forgot to take pictures of this part!). It may not look like much, but it will rise at bakes. Now put your loaf pans on the middle rack in your oven and bake for 50 minutes. The recipe calls for 1 hour and 10 minutes, but since I use smaller loaf pans I put them in for a shorter period of time. While they’re baking, get out a wire rack for cooling when they’re done. After you pull them out of the oven, stick a toothpick in them to make sure they’re done. If anything sticks to the toothpick, put the loaf back in for about 5 minutes and then test again. Once you get a clean toothpick, you may need to run a knife along the edges of the pan to help get the loaf of the pan. Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetAnd there you have it! Let the loaves cool for at least 15 minutes before cutting into them. I usually don’t eat mine until they’re room temperature or the next day. I hope you enjoy this recipe and that my post was easy to follow. Happy baking!

– A

Leave a Reply

